Hurrah for Good News!

I know this is a departure from my regular posts, but I just have to share some really good news I received this week!

In 2008, my father was diagnosed with multiple myeloma  – cancer of the plasma cells (found in bone marrow).  My father was a shell of his former self.  He had lost close to 50 pounds (which he really couldn’t afford to lose), and had shrunk nearly 3 inches in height.  Several of his vertebrae had fractures due to bone erosion.  He was in constant pain and was too weak to do much of anything.

Four months after he was diagnosed, Dad was told he was in remission.  The doctors were amazed – they had never seen someone with such a quick turnaround (my dad credits G*d, and the prayers of friends and family).  It took a considerable amount of time, but my dad gained much of his strength back.

Two weeks ago, my parents visited the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.  After a number of tests and consultations with the Mayo hemo/oncology group, my father was informed that he was a most unusual multiple myeloma patient.  All tests were negative for the myeloma proteins – or at least so small that it was undetectable at this time.  The oncology group agreed that they had never seen a patient respond so well to so little treatment and for this length of time.   There is nothing they can do about his back pain, except to manage it with pain meds.  After the great news about the myeloma, my dad was willing to accept the news about his back.   :D

My parents are already planning to get back into their volunteer work.  As a licensed contractor, my dad leads teams of volunteers building churches, homes, offices, and on one occasion, an orphanage.  He and my step-mother have worked tirelessly on these projects around the world in places such as Japan, Mexico, Bolivia, and  Papua New Guinea.  They have also done projects closer to home; building churches in small fishing villages in southeast Alaska (where I grew up), bible camps in different states, and they have spent considerable amounts of time rebuilding homes of those devastated by Hurricane Katrina. My parents had been volunteering in this way since the early ’90s, but they had to curtail their efforts when Dad got sick.  After hearing that no further treatment or tests are being recommended, they decided to go ahead and plan a project for a church in Alaska.  I know they are looking forward to it!

I had received an email before they even left Rochester, but the news didn’t sink in right away.  I spoke with my father this afternoon, and the news has just now become *real* for me.  So, now I am in a celebratory mood!!!  Thanks for listening!  :)

Hurrah for good news from the medical profession!!

Richard Armitage as Dr. Alec Track in The Golden Hour, episode 3.  Screencap courtesy of richardarmitagenet.com .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Hurrah for Good News!

  1. servetus says:

    It’s wonderful to hear news like this! I’m so glad he’ll be around to continue his activities — both for him, and for you, and for the people he’ll serve. (Thanking G-d myself.) Yay!!!!

  2. Hi ItsJSforme!
    This is fantastic news and so inspiring. Blessings!
    Cheers! Grati ;->

  3. judiang says:

    That’s incredible news! Best wishes to your dad and stepmom. :)

  4. bccmee says:

    Miracles seem to be pretty rare these days and I’m thrilled that your dad is doing so well!

  5. phylly3 says:

    Fantastic news! So very happy for your family, :-)

  6. trlibhart says:

    How awesome for you and your father!! I so love good news! We always need more of it!!

  7. Such great news!!! When I hear stories like this one, I believe that anything is possible! I’m so happy for you :)

  8. April says:

    It’s a very good new ItsJSforme ! Thanks for sharing it with us. :-)

  9. itsjsforme says:

    I’m sorry I did not acknowledge your comments earlier, but I have been playing a hermit. I am working on a paper and am struggling with it. I’ve been trying to stay away from the internet, other than articles related to my topic,with obviously limited success! Luckily for me, the due date was pushed to Wednesday and I can hopefully fix the paper so I am somewhat happy with it. lol

  10. fitzg says:

    This is marvellous news. What strength your parents have!
    Sorry to be so late in comment – RL etc. have been pressing the past week. But so good to hear such wonderful things.
    My very best to you and parents.

  11. UK Expat says:

    Congratulations, this is wonderful news!!! Sorry to be so late with a response, I only read this today. The work your parents do really sounds amazing, and I’m so glad your father was seen by the oncology team at Mayo! That must have been quite the trek for them. One of my dearest college friends did her medical residency there and her oncology rotation was outstanding. (The dept really campaigned for her to choose oncology and continue @ Mayo, but in the end she chose cardiology and completed her fellowship @ Cleveland Clinic). Still makes me very happy to hear such great news and to know that people are receiving excellent medical care.

    • itsjsforme says:

      My parents were pleased with the Mayo Clinic (not just because of the good news). Dad told me that their experience at Mayo was excellent. “They are organized, pleasant and very informative. We were treated as “friends” and not as a number as we expected in such a large place.” He also said that anyone needing to consider a trip to the Mayo Clinic should make that trip. It’s not very often that my dad makes comments like that. :)

Leave a Reply

