A Graphic Experience

Since I first “discovered” Richard Armitage seven months ago, I have been reading the forums and admiring all the wonderful signatures on display. I wanted one of my own but I wanted to make it myself. I did not know how to go about making one, so I went without (sigh).  I decided to try and figure something out with Adobe Photoshop, since I had the trial software. I am a complete novice when it comes to stuff like this, and I spent a number of days beating myself up because I could not figure out even the simplest of things. I finally hit upon the right combination of search terms, and Google provided me with answers (I hadn’t been asking the right questions   lol). I was off and running!

I fell flat on my face. My siggie wasn’t working; I could not do what I wanted to do. I complained to bccmee (she has the patience of a saint!!!) and she very kindly pointed out that I was trying to run before I could walk. I needed to start with something much simpler. (Have I mentioned that I crave instant gratification, and want to do great things on my first try??? I make myself crazy.) So, I started with something simple – a screencap with added text.  It doesn’t get much simpler than that.  lol

I did my screencap with text and was impatient to move on to something more difficult, so I decided to tackle the siggie again.  I struggled with it for quite awhile, but bccmee gave me some tips and I was able to finish it.  “It took a bl**dy long time, and it were ‘ard work, but I did it,” as Carol Bolton said.  😀  This is what I ended up with:

For my third graphic, I wanted to make a header for my blog.  Never happy with something simple, I wanted something with lots of images.  I worked on it for a few days, and after implementing some changes recommended by beengizzied (thanks bgz!!!), I replaced the existing blog header with my own graphic.

My fourth graphic was a wallpaper of Thorin.  My original concept wasn’t coming together as I wanted it to, so I just started playing around.  This is the result:

In the last few days of my trial period, I was able to make a few more siggies, wallpapers, and I worked on a few more animated gifs.  I think I got quite a bit accomplished in those thirty days with Photoshop.  😀

For anyone who is at all interested in making graphics, I heartily recommend giving it a try!  I went from making myself sick for not being able to put two images on the same page to making some graphics that aren’t half bad.  If I can do it, anyone can.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Graphic Experience

  1. bccmee says:

    Thanks for the “shout-out!” I do agree that anyone with an inkling of interest should try their hand at graphics. I sure hope you get the full-blown never expires version of the software soon. 🙂 Your work is really impressive. I’ve been wearing your Thorin wallpaper on my computer at home.

    • itsjsforme says:

      (Blush) Thanks, bccmee. I probably would have given up if it wasn’t for the support from my friends. I need a kick in the butt sometimes. lol I’m glad I stuck with it.

      I’m so happy you like my King Beneath the Mountain! It is my main wallpaper, but I switch to my ♥John Standring♥ paper sometimes, or LucasJohn, Hail to the King, or Guy. It’s nice to have choices! 😀

      When I get the “full-blown never expires version of the software,” I will have *so* many projects to make!

  2. servetus says:

    That signature is HOT. Hail to the King, indeed.

    I never thought I’d vid, and look what happened. It’s true, as you say, that you have to know how to ask the right questions, but the software makes it so possible, so within reach. And then there are the hours of fun looking while you edit 🙂

    I think I’m going to try regular graphic editing soon (as opposed to vidding), but I doubt I’m ready for Photoshop yet.

    • itsjsforme says:

      I’m glad you like it, Serv. “Hail to the King, baby” is from Army of Darkness. My hubby is a fan, and he suggested the quote for the signature. He is so helpful! 🙂 I made a matching wallpaper so I can gaze upon the king whenever I get the urge to do so. (swoon) I’m using my King Beneath the Mountain wallpaper at the moment, but I put the other wallpapers up once in awhile…it depends on my mood.

      Vidding is something that I didn’t really try, mostly due to lack of confidence in myself. Some of my gifs are rather long, and bccmee has suggested I make them into mini-fan vids. Once I buy the software, I’ll suck it up and try my hand at vidding. I watched your Guy vid….looks good!

      You’re right about the hours of fun looking while editing…a lovely bonus. Such a compelling subject!!

  3. alfie says:

    I think you got a gift – love your work. The last one with Thorin is soooo beautiful. Have commented before about your header, but I will do it again: it ROCK!!

Leave a Reply

