I Have a Lot to Learn

I love to learn new things.  I love to create things.  I love to solve problems/puzzles.  I set impossibly high standards for myself, and beat myself up for falling short of these standards.  This makes it difficult when attempting new things, as I end up not allowing myself a reasonable learning curve.

A month or so ago, I was working on an animated GIF, and it ended up being rather long.  Bccmee suggested I turn it into a mini-fanvid.  I ran screaming for the hills – I wasn’t ready to start vidding!  A few of my ArmitageWorld chat friends encouraged me to try it.  I swore up and down that I would not make a fan video.  Nope.  No way.

In spite of myself, I started playing around with my overgrown GIF. It had been edited in Photoshop and I continued to tinker with the project.  I got the clip to where I was pretty much happy with it and tried to export it.  The image quality was terrible!  I tried several different exporting options, and none of them worked for me.  Here I was again, literally making myself sick over not being able to accomplish something (I really need to quit doing that – it’s not healthy!).  I swore I was going to trash the whole project.

A few days later, I was angry at myself for giving up. I decided to try another option and it worked!  Well, it’s not perfect, but it is better than the other versions.  lol  I used Photoshop to make an end credits clip, and Audacity to edit an audio clip for those credits.  I imported everything into Windows Movie Maker to tie it all together.

My first ever fan video, uploaded to youTube:


The moral of this story:  It takes time to learn new things, and to do them well?  Never say never?  Don’t give up?  Done is better than perfect?  It all works out in the end?  Take your pick.   😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to I Have a Lot to Learn

  1. bccmee says:

    The video looks and sounds great. Nice work!

    The moral is a good one. Gotta “git ‘er done!”

    Nothing is perfect, except when it’s still in the mind. <– a friend told me that quote, paraphrased from Michelangelo.

  2. servetus says:

    I’m glad you persisted! Really cute!

  3. JasRangoon says:

    What a great video!!! I started to make a video and then got frustrated and took an indefinite break…you have inspired me to give it another go. 🙂

  4. Fabulous! I loved it! Cheers! Grati ;->

  5. Thanks for my first smile of the day. Great video!!!!

  6. phylly3 says:

    Ha!Ha! I didn’t see that one coming! Good for you for being persistent.

  7. fitzg says:

    Bravo! You had me fooled till the end – I thought Robin was going to break out the wine flask for “just one more”. 😀

  8. Pingback: Here’s your Pattern Project | bccmee's Richard Armitage Vids & Graphics

  9. Angela Mellor says:

    I really enjoyed it !! Well done !! It made me laugh 🙂 Keep up the good work 🙂

  10. love4ot says:

    My sister referred your blog and video to me and I really enjoyed the humor! How funny!

Leave a Reply

