English Comp versus Stitchin’ Richard

Yesterday afternoon was to be dedicated to working on my Sylvia Plath essay for English Composition, but Stitchin’ Richard was calling out to me.  Poor thing has been neglected terribly since Christmas!  Naturally, Stitchin’ Richard won out.  I’m such a bad, bad girl!   lol

I popped my recently acquired “Venetia” into the CD player and settled in to stitch away the hours.  (I thoroughly enjoyed “Venetia” …a terrific addition to my RAudiobook collection!)  I am happy to say that I made a great deal of progress on Stitchin’ Richard.

An updated pic:

I’m estimating that close to 500 stitches were done today.  I hope that is enough to earn his forgiveness for nearly three months of neglect.  I really do feel horribly about that, and shall endeavor to spend time more regularly with him from now on.   😉

Back to the grindstone.  Oh well; I enjoyed my day off and tomorrow’s task isn’t so bad. Sylvia Plath’s poetry will be interesting to write about.   🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to English Comp versus Stitchin’ Richard

  1. This embroidery is a work of art.
    Can I ask you what kind of canvas are you using and how many shades of pink you are employing for the skin. It looks so natural!
    Congratulations and keep on stitching!

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      I’m glad you like it. 🙂 The fabric is 25-count Lugana. The chart calls for 89 colors altogether (some colors are used for one stitch only – it’s very detailed!) I’d say there are approximately 30 different shades for the skin tones, and at least 20 in his hair.

  2. The Queen says:

    Holy cow! 25 count?!! Makes me grab my glasses and magnifying glass all at the same time. Amazing!! And it IS truly ART!!!! 🙂

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      LoL I don’t need the magnifying glass yet, but I’m sure that day is not far off. I do have my OttLite positioned so it shines over my shoulder as I stitch. 😀 I would love to have a Thorin chart, but I’m not happy with any of my attempts so far. Speaking of Thorin….your PP block of Thorin’s axe is astounding!!!

  3. Simply stunning! I have no idea how you do it, but it’s iiterally like a photo. Maybe I should pop in Venetia and see what talents come out… Then again, best not risk it 😉 Can’t wait for the next update!

  4. The Queen says:

    LOL…it was my first. Block design, that is. Thanks. Graph paper helps a lot and it also helped that the axe itself is very geometrical. What you’re doing? I can’t even imagine. Which reminds me…I have “several” unfinished projects in my cross stitch basket. One of the days…..

    Don’t you love those Ott Lites? I got my mom one years ago. Now I have one and can’t embroider w/o it!!

  5. I used to make these as I child 🙂 I must say I’m really impressed, it looks like a picture, not stitching !

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      I started cross-stitching when I was in high school as something to keep me busy when I wasn’t playing basketball. I’ve always been drawn to the more detailed charts. I am really happy with this one…I am looking forward to working on the other RA charts I have. 🙂

  6. bccmee says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished project. Maybe you can cross stitch your Sylvia Plath essay too.

  7. servetus says:

    I love Sylvia Plath, but I’d leave her in a sec for Stitchin Richard! Can’t wait till it’s finished!

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      I love Sylvia Plath, too, but I have spent more time with her poem this past week than I ever wanted to. Another week to go. 😦 Rough draft is done, but I need to revise and rewrite….the final draft is due Monday. Maybe then I will be able to devote more time to SR. *fingers crossed*

  8. jasrangoon says:

    Stitchin’ Richard is coming along so nicely! As others have mentioned, it really does look like a photo. Can’t wait to see your next update on this project!

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      Thanks! I love the fact that it looks like a photo! Some of the color choices seem odd to me, but when you step back (or see a photo of the stitching), the colors blend together and it all makes sense.

  9. Joanna says:

    Simply beautiful ,yet so much work ahed of you.:)

Leave a Reply

