Two down and a kajillion to go

I got off to a slow start (was sidetracked by e-books and World of Warcraft) but I’ve finally finished some projects!  I wanted to make a case for my sunglasses, and I found a tutorial that I liked the looks of.  I love batiks, so I decided to use one for my case:

And this is what I ended up with:

I thought I could make another case – this one would be for my cross stitching glasses.  I wanted to do something a bit different…something fun.  So, I printed up some Richard Armitage photos on a sheet of fabric and used them in place of some of the hexagons:

The second case, front and back:

These photos are of the fifth attempt at the second case.  Arrghhh!!  lol  Oh well…I got it figured out, and it is done.  Not perfect, but done.  It will have to do.   😀

Now I have two summer projects under my belt!  Once the hole in my finger heals up, I can work on something else!  Yes, I know…I could have used a thimble while doing the hand stitching, but where’s the fun in that?!?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Two down and a kajillion to go

  1. kathryngaul says:

    Great work. As a person who can’t stand doing any sort of craft myself, I have to admire your patience 🙂

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      Thanks 🙂 I usually have several craft projects in the works at any given time. Patience? If I do have patience, it only shows itself when I am creating something (my ability to sit and work on something detailed and time-consuming). I become very impatient with myself when something goes wrong and I cannot immediately find a solution. lol

  2. Snicker's Mom says:

    Looks great! I can hardly wait to see your other projects.

  3. april73 says:

    It’s great ItsJSforMe, bravo ! 🙂

  4. The Queen says:

    Love these!!! Taking orders?! 🙂

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      Ummm….I think I’m done with hexes for awhile. 😀 I think I’d like to do some applique, though. Your Thorin’s axe PP quilt block inspired me to work on an applique design of Thorin’s hand wrapped around his axe (I prefer applique over PP). Whether or not I will actually *make* the block…that’s another thing entirely. lmao

      • The Queen says:

        Yay! Have you checked Fandom in Stitches lately? They just posted a new pattern…the barrels going down the river. I’m way behind…my last one was the ring. An eagle, bear paw and barrel to go.

        Now see…I would’ve NEVER thought of wrapping Thorin’s hand around the axe!!! Great idea!

        • kathryngaul says:

          Now…this “Fandom in Stitches”…do you have a link to it on your blog? Even though I’m not the least bit “crafty” myself, I quite enjoy looking at what you and other people create. I can remember seeing the axe and the ring…and I always love your cakes 🙂

        • ItsJSforMe says:

          Yes, I subscribed to Fandom in Stitches after seeing your blocks on your blog. They have some wonderful designs! I’ve been poking around in my stash to see if I have fabric that will work for the “There and Back Again” BOM. If not, I’ll have to go shopping (oh, horror of horrors! fabric shopping)!! 😀

          I blew up the image of Thorin standing in front of The Company with his axe in hand. I cropped it down to just his hand and the head of the axe. I’m trying to work with that….I hope I can do it justice. lol

  5. candy says:

    Love your second case! That’s a fun idea.

  6. phylly3 says:

    Ouch! Your poor finger! But I can see it was a labour of love, so well worth the pain! 🙂

  7. bccmee says:

    Very fun project! That’s a nice assortment of Richard Armitage characters. Did you include all of them?

  8. jasrangoon says:

    It turned out great!!!! So proud of you for persevering! 🙂

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      Thanks, Jas! I’m glad I stuck with it. I’d like to do another project with photos printed on fabric, but I will have to pick something that doesn’t require hand stitching! The printer fabric is fairly thick and it is not easy to get a needle through it by hand. Not for me, anyway. lol

  9. What a wonderful project! Great job. It makes me want to try something myself, which is so dangerous as I lack the least bit of manual skill and have no attention to detail. You should be so proud of yourself!!! 🙂

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      Oh, you should try something!! It’s very rewarding (IMHO)! I’m not the most skilled person on the planet, but I think I might shrivel up and die if I didn’t have at least one craft project in the works! I am proud of the fact that I got both cases finished…starting a new project is so easy, but finishing it is a different story 😀

  10. servetus says:

    Can’t wait to see your block for Fandom in Stitches. This is a really impressive project; looking at the seam allowances for those hexes gives me palpitations, though.

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      I threw out my 4th attempt at the second case because the points weren’t matching up! Of course, I had strayed from the tutorial and used a different type of stitch. On the 5th attempt, I went back to whip-stitching. That worked so much better!

      My Thorin axe block is still in the design stage. I’m having fun with it but I don’t know when I will be done designing (I really have no idea what I am doing lol). I should probably stop fussing and actually try to construct a block. 😛

  11. Pingback: Legenda 30: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

Leave a Reply

