A Pleasant Surprise

I was sitting on my couch this morning, staring off into space when my cell phone started blaring “The Bridge of Khazad Dum.”  Who would be calling me at 8:34 AM??

“Hello?”

“Hey – are you getting ready to go to sleep, or are you just getting up?”  Hmm.  Someone knows me well!

It was Snicker’s Mom!  We had never met in person, even though she lives two hours from me, and works maybe 20 miles from my house.  She went to work this morning and found the office closed unexpectedly for the day.  Since she was at loose ends, she gave me a call.  I am so glad she did!

We made arrangements to meet at Great Lakes Crossing.  I grabbed a couple kids and hit the expressway.  We found Snicker’s Mom and went to a restaurant for breakfast.  The food was almost tolerable, but the conversation was great fun!  I brought the Lils along so she could meet them, too.  They behaved pretty well, for the most part.  🙂

After breakfast, I took Snicker’s Mom to see the film studio where Tom Hiddleston may or may not be filming “Only Lovers Left Alive.” He’s been spotted around town, but we’ve not been able to confirm where the filming is taking place.  We cruised around the property, but saw nothing too terribly interesting.  Oh well…at least we tried!

After hitting the mall and the Yankee Candle store, we said our goodbyes.  By that time, the heat and lack of sleep were really getting to me.  Time to go home and take a nap!

Thank you *SO* much for calling me this morning, Snicker’s Mom!  I had a really great time!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fighting over navigation privileges

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Pleasant Surprise

  1. bccmee says:

    This is a gReAt adventure for you and the kids and the Lil Guys. I’m sure a fun time was had by all. Can’t wait till we meet someday. 😀

  2. That sounds like such fun! The girls and the Guys 🙂 I can’t quite wrap my mind around meeting someone from the fandom in RL, and distance would probably make it quite hard, but there’s no one I wouldn’t want to meet for our ReAlity 🙂

  3. Snicker's Mom says:

    I was so happy to finally meet you as well as the boys and the kids. I had a good time and I do think TH will be there soon. I also went home and napped, the boys wore me out!!!!!! We will get together soon, we live too close not to!!!!

  4. jasrangoon says:

    How fun that you two finally got to meet! (Shall I confess that I’m a little jealous? 😉 ) Sounds like you had a wonderful time.

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      I was excited to hear from her! Feel free to come up for the next one…I can send the boys to help navigate if you wish 😛 I just need you to promise to not let Lil Guy drive…he’s a terror on the road!

  5. servetus says:

    What a great meetup story! I’m glad the Lils didn’t get you lost. 🙂

Leave a Reply

