Richard Armitage as Batman???

I’ve been receiving many Google Alerts for Richard Armitage the past few days, with links to articles declaring he is one of the actors in the running to replace Christian Bale as the new Batman.

When I first heard about the possibility of RA becoming Batman, I immediately thought of a graphic made by my good friend bccmee back in November of 2010:

Bateman not Batman2

It made me giggle.   😛

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Richard Armitage as Batman???

  1. fedoralady says:

    Truthfully, I would have preferred Batman over Bateman! 😉

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      I know I’m in the minority, but I never had a problem with Bateman (the post-Lucas-North-Bateman, not the young John Bateman). *runs away and trips over her JB flag*

  2. Perry says:

    Smack my head-I stared at this for 10 minutes before I saw the tags and figured out the joke.

  3. Snickers' Mom says:

    That’s funny that its from 2010. Was there batman buzz back then?

  4. Herba says:

    Love it *giggle*

  5. Clever graphic, but I loathe Series 9 (shocking!). 😉 The Batman speculation is getting to me. Poor Richard, who is so private, will be terribly humiliated if he’s not cast in the role now that it’s down to five actors. We need to send him an Armitage Army Group Hug!

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      The articles I’ve read, if I understand them correctly, indicate the script has yet to be written and the list of front-runners for the new Batman is pure speculation on the part of people in and around the movie industry. There has been no mention of auditions being held at this time (please feel free to correct me if I’m mistaken). I don’t see any reason why he would be humiliated if he did not get the role – we have no way of knowing if Batman is a role that Armitage even desires to play. I think it is fantastic that he is being recognized as an actor who has what it takes to play such a well-established character. 😀

    • jasrangoon says:

      I think we can probably hold off on the group hug. RA is a private person, but this isn’t his personal life. It’s speculation over future work, which we–his fans–do all the time. The fact that a much broader group of people are now discussing a potential future role for him–a role we don’t have any confirmation he even wants–is a positive thing. This is only speculation on my part, just as the Batman talk is all still speculation at this point, but I believe Richard is business savvy enough to know and appreciate that being named a front-runner for the role is good for his image. I’d also wager a guess that he’s smart enough to know that there is no reason for humiliation were he not to get the role, if he does want it. Actors get passed over for roles all the time. It’s just part of the job. Richard shouldn’t be/isn’t any different simply because we hold him in high esteem.

  6. Oh my God! How could I forget about this! LOL I’m glad you dug it up! Who’d have thought back then we’d have all this chatter? I’m with you, in that small minority who has watched S9 all the way to the end.

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      I wasn’t part of the fandom when bccmee made this – I joined 6 months later. When the Batman stuff started recently, I remembered seeing this graphic, but I couldn’t find it right away. It took me a few days and lots of Google-time! I don’t know why I didn’t save it the first time around (silly me!).

      As far as S9 goes – I don’t have the emotional attachment to Lucas that some fans have. I didn’t watch Spooks over an extended period of time; it took me 14 days to watch all of series 7, 8 and 9. I was a bit disappointed with how s9 ended but mostly I was fascinated with how Lucas/John fell apart emotionally.

      • LostinaGoodbook says:

        How far he has come in just a few years – that this could go from a (brilliant) joke graphic to a serious possibility!
        I was a Spooks fan before RA joined – in fact I didn’t watch it for five years because I was horrified by the deep-fryer incident in episode two and thought it was going to be too violent for me, then caught up on what I had been missing later on, so I was more aware than many seem to have been that a Spooks character is for three series max, not for life. So the Lucas/John thing felt more like a pulp-thriller-y plot twist than a betrayal to me, much as I loved Lucas. And RA poured that frustration into his acting, you could just feel it, and I thought he gave a brilliant performance.

        • ItsJSforMe says:

          After watching S7-9, I went back and watched series 1-9, and then s10 when it aired. I enjoyed most of it. lol I do think that RA did a fantastic job with what he was given. Be that as it may, Spooks is generally *not* what I turn to when I am in need of an Armitage fix. 😉

  7. Pingback: Batman, Batman, Batman? or: Would I follow Richard Armitage to another comic book role? | Me + Richard Armitage

  8. Joanna says:

    😀 This is great, ItsJSforMe.
    Bathman ?

  9. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 91: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  10. guylty says:

    Oh God, it took me a while to cop on. But the graphic is priceless. Really well done. Plus a great joke, too. Thanks for digging this up – I was not around when this was first published.

Leave a Reply

