Indiana Oakenshield…

grates less upon further acquaintance!  I’ve just returned from my fourth viewing of The Desolation of Smaug, and just as I had hoped, the things that I couldn’t bear to watch the first time around have gradually become more acceptable.  After seeing it the first time, I realized I had to let go of the idea that the movie was based on the book.  Lighten up, Itsy!!!

The tone of DoS is much more light-hearted than AUJ.  There is a lot more humor and they basically just cut loose.  Action-hero Indiana Oakenshield boogie-boards on molten gold, performs aerial acrobatics , balances precariously on the nose of a fire-breathing dragon, taunts him mercilessly until the dragon loses his temper and sets a forge ablaze.

Indiana Oakenshield

Yeah, once I decided not to take it so seriously, I enjoyed the heck out of this movie!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Indiana Oakenshield…

  1. jasrangoon says:

    I’ve seen it twice so far and it was better the second time. Perhaps I should follow your example and see it a couple more times! 🙂 I’m really glad it’s gotten better with each subsequent viewing for you.

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      I think seeing the movie with other people helped, too. I saw it first by myself, the second time with my husband, third time with my teenage son, and fourth with my husband again. My husband doesn’t give a rat’s behind if it was based on a movie or not – he just enjoyed it. Same with my son; he read the book not too long ago and didn’t care that PJ switched things up. He liked all the extras.

  2. I saw it the first by myself as well. The second time with others. There was to be a third, but it did not happen (for a post dinner Christmas outing – everyone got too chatty and sleepy, including yours truly.) I still plan to see it at least once more in theatres.

Leave a Reply

