My Monumental Monet Project

I had surgery on my elbow in June, and took two months off to give my muscles and ulnar nerve a chance to heal.  No crafting for two months!!!  I almost didn’t survive!  By the last week of August, I felt I was up to stitching again, and I decided to tackle a new project.  A major challenge.  For real.  This is the biggest cross stitching project I have ever worked on.

I decided to create a pattern for my favorite painting.  (I apologize for the underwhelming photo; I took it myself when I was visiting a friend in NYC a few years ago.  Seeing this painting in person left me rather verklempt.  I’m not exactly sure why, but I could do little more than sit and stare at it with tears in my eyes.  It was a bit embarrassing.  I swear, ya can’t take me anywhere!)

The Manneporte (Étretat) by Claude Monet, 1883

The Manneporte (Étretat) by Claude Monet, 1883

Anyhow, I did manage to create a pattern I was satisfied with.  I’m using fabric that is 25 stitches per inch and the finished stitched image will measure 18 inches wide by 14.5 inches high.  I will use 169 different colors to complete 162,000 stitches.  Just for a comparison, Stitchin’ Richard had 89 colors and 26,100 stitches.

Floss Kit

My floss kit for The Manneporte (Étretat) 1883

My working pattern covers 24 pages.  This past weekend, I finished a 4th page.  That gives me nearly 32,000 stitches done.  (That is more work done in the past 3 months than it took me over 3 years to do on Stitchin’ Richard!!!)

I’ve been taking pictures of my progress at the end of each stitching day.  I’m hoping to post a slideshow each time I finish a page.  I’ll post the first one in a few days – after I relearn how to do the slideshow!   😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Monumental Monet Project

  1. Servetus says:

    WOW. I guess you’re feeling better.

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      Yep. Surgery was a breeze – very little pain after. The worst thing was trying to remember not to lift more than 2 pounds! The most common utterance in our house this summer was, “That’s more than two pounds, Mom!!!” :-/ I wasn’t supposed to hold my arm in one position for too long, either, which is why I went so long without doing any cross stitch or crochet.

  2. Snickers' Mom says:

    Lots of pretty colors! I can’t wait to see the slideshow!

  3. zan, O1C says:

    I totally understand your feelings about the painting. I get the same way with “The Japanese Footbridge”. Just something about it moves me. This project is simply gorgeous. The palette is perfect.

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      Thanks Zan 🙂 The painting is ever so much better in person. My photo does not do it justice, at all.
      I’m glad RA did the Impressionist project – I never paid that much attention to impressionism before I bought the DVD. Now I enjoy Monet, Cézanne, and Degas. Monet is my favorite, though. I think his Sunflowers will be my next cross stitch project (as you know, I have a thing for sunflowers 😛 ).

  4. Pingback: Monet who? Impressionism? Wot? | Do I Have A Blog?

Leave a Reply

