MMMonet, Page 1

I wish I had kept a record of how many hours I spent creating the pattern, measuring & binding the fabric, counting stitches & marking the pages on the fabric, and preparing the floss kit.  It felt like it took forever!!

Page 1:  116.75 stitching hours (19 stitching days)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you didn’t feel like sitting through the slide show, here is the beginning and (near the) end of page 1.  You can click on the images to see a larger version.   🙂

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

Day 018

Day 018

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to MMMonet, Page 1

  1. Servetus says:

    Wow. Medieval nuns used to do stuff like this.

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      I love to look at old needlework. I don’t know how they did it!! I’m sure my light sources are much better than anything they had available.

      • Servetus says:

        nuns, anyway, were in no rush. They did it for a few hours a day when they weren’t praying or doing other chores, and they had infinite amounts of time.

        • ItsJSforMe says:

          I usually stitch in the evening. I’ve been keeping track of how long each stitching session lasts. This page was started on August 25th, and finished on September 22nd. There were 19 stitching days, with sessions lasting anywhere from 2.5 to 10 hours. There were a few sessions for page 2 that lasted 12-13 hours. I stitched all night, and stopped when it was time to get my youngest up for school. ^^’

  2. Snickers' Mom says:

    It’s awesome watching the scene develop before the eye.

  3. zan, O1C says:

    You amaze me! This is looking awesome! 😀

  4. Pingback: Monet who? Impressionism? Wot? | Do I Have A Blog?

  5. This is going to be phenomenal. I so look forward to seeing the finished product as well as all the work in progress.

  6. robyn says:

    I’m amazed at your work! I’m even more amazed that you bothered to make the design yourself! Such dedication. I’m planning on buying my pattern from a collectibles website (red waterlilies and there’s an amazing fractal that I want to do as well – rainbows – because I’m rainbow obsessed!). I was just wondering if you’ve read about the “parking” method for working on large cross stitch projects? I’m debating about trying it but think I will because at least one of my projects has so many colours it will work for certain sections and not for others. Anyway.. your project is amazing! I can’t wait till I have the money to get started on mine! Thanks for documenting your work so well! (Sorry for all the !!!!).. Robyn xx https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zdp4-traCo4

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      Hi Robyn! Thank you for your kind words! A number of years ago, my wonderful husband bought me a software program called “Pattern Maker for cross stitch” (by HobbyWare). My goal was to take photos of each of my children at age 2 and merge them in Photoshop, then create the cross-stitch pattern with the Pattern Maker. That project is still on the shelf (mainly because I cannot decide which pictures to use!). The software is easy to use, and you can do all sorts of stuff with it!

      I hope you have fun with your waterlilies! Once you buy the pattern, please do yourself a huge favor and make sure the colors in the pattern match your painting – I once had bad luck with a painting pattern I purchased!!

      I am familiar with the “parking” method. I’m using it in another project (Blue Skies from Mystic Stitch) which I started years ago, but that particular project was put on the shelf when I started Stitchin’ Richard. The parking method works really well for Blue Skies. I decided not to park threads for SR and Monet because….ummm….yeah. With Stitchin’ Richard, I just followed a color until it petered out, so no need to park the thread. With MMMonet, I determine the size of the area I want to stitch during a session, then fill it in one color at a time. If a color has one or two stitches outside the chosen area (but not too far away), I will go ahead and stitch them to save rethreading the needle for only a few stitches. I am considering keeping the more common colors threaded with their own needles but I will need to purchase more needles before I give that a go. Also, I photographed each session of SR and am doing the same with MMMonet. I think having so many dangling threads in the picture would be distracting. 🙂

      Oh, and don’t worry about the !!!! I am very fond of them myself! 😀

      Thanks for visiting!!!

Leave a Reply

