MMMonet, Page 2

This second page is mostly rock, but there is sky at the bottom of the page.  The rock is extremely detailed.  Tons of colors and having to re-thread the needle after a stitch or two!  The sky is a nice change of pace.  Different colors (obviously) and not so many thread swaps.

I started this page on September 22nd and finished it on October 7th.

Page 2:  113.75 hours (15 stitching days)                                                                                         Total stitching hours to date:  230.5 hours

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you didn’t feel like sitting through the slide show, here is the beginning and end of page 2.  You can click on the images to see a larger version.   😀

Day 019

Day 019

Day 033a

Day 033

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to MMMonet, Page 2

  1. Pingback: Monet who? Impressionism? Wot? | Do I Have A Blog?

  2. Servetus says:

    I got a link to this post before but then I couldn’t find it on the blog. I’m impressed by your industry.

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      I forgot to change the year on the publishing date for the post. It messed things up! *blush*

      I’m happy with how quickly this project is progressing. I hope I can keep up the pace.

      • Servetus says:

        I don’t do much counted cross-stitch anymore, but I always thought the piece of seeing your image emerge from nothing was a big motivator. I’m impressed that you do it page by page, I always did it color by color and I often started in the middle — which was probably the wrong way, and made the end of the project usually very boring.

        • ItsJSforMe says:

          Many people do start their cross-stitch projects in the middle. For me, it depends on the project. I started in the middle with Stitchin’ Richard. The middle was along the left side of the first page of the pattern, and I did tend to let the colors dictate my stitching path from session to session. When it came to filling in his black coat and white background, it did get a little boring stitching row after row of the same color.

          I did some research before beginning MMMonet and I discovered that with projects this size (mine has 24 pages), people usually start in the upper left hand corner of page one. How they plan out their stitching varies. Some fill a 10 x 10 stitch block before moving on, others stitch by color groupings. With my last few pages, I’ve been trying to fill areas that are approximately 40 stitches wide by 10 – 15 stitches high. I put in all the stitches of one color in that area before switching to a new color. Sometimes a color is used for only one or two stitches.

          I have some pictures that illustrate the complexity of the pattern. Maybe I should throw a post together. 😀

          • Servetus says:

            That totally makes sense — if you had to count to the middle of a 24 page project, you could easily make a mistake and start in the wrong place. I can imagine, too, that the color differential in a lot of this project is very subtle.

            • ItsJSforMe says:

              Very subtle. I’ve counted close to 20 different colors in the sky section – not just the expected shades of blue, gray and white, but pink, lavender, yellow and green as well. When I am stitching areas of sky, I am always reminded of the scene in Girl with a Pearl Earring where Vermeer asks Griet to name the colors she sees in the clouds. 🙂

  3. phylly3 says:

    You are a cross-stitching Goddess!

Leave a Reply

