A diversion

Uhtred book 9

My copy is here!    

Warriors of the Storm, by Bernard Cornwell, has just arrived from Amazon UK!

There will be no stitching for me this evening.

Stitching will most likely resume tomorrow; the book only has 350 or so pages.   😃

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A diversion

  1. Servetus says:

    don’t gobble it down too quickly 🙂

  2. Snickers' Mom says:

    Hope it’s a real page Turner!

    • Snickers' Mom says:

      Post a review!

      • ItsJSforMe says:

        It was a good yarn. Lord Uhtred is older, but he hasn’t changed much- he is still brash and impulsive. I look forward to reading it again after I re-read the first 8 in the series. 😉

        • Servetus says:

          There are 8 in that series???

          • ItsJSforMe says:

            • The Last Kingdom (2004)
            • The Pale Horseman (2005)
            • The Lords of the North (2006)
            • Sword Song (2007)
            • The Burning Land (2009)
            • Death of Kings (2011)
            • The Pagan Lord (2013)
            • The Empty Throne (2014)
            • Warriors of the Storm (2015)

            I will re-read all 9 over the summer, I think.

  3. ItsJSforMe says:

    On his website, Bernard Cornwell has a space where he answers questions. Several people have asked about the possibility of a 10th book. Mr. Cornwell responded last week, saying, “Book 10 of The Last Kingdom series will be called The Flame Bearer. It will be published in the UK in October and in the US in November. Hope to have an excerpt of the book on this website soon!”

    Of course, that would be the hardcover release – I’ll have to wait until spring for the paperback. Oh well. Something to look forward to! 😉

    • Servetus says:

      I liked the ones i read; I just got sidetracked by my block about finishing listening to LOTN. I should approach that again.

      • ItsJSforMe says:

        I occasionally listen to LOTN while stitching. It’s kind of funny – when I’m reading the books, I “hear” the story in RA’s voice. Bonus! 😃

      • ItsJSforMe says:

        What is blocking you from finishing the LOTN audiobook?

        • Servetus says:

          I know what happens on Disc 4 and I am afraid of my emotional reaction to listening to it.

          • ItsJSforMe says:

            Ah. If it’s the incident I’m thinking of, I understand. The first time I listened to LOTN, I did not know the story. I was gutted. Even when I read the book later, I put the book down when I got close to that point. It was difficult to pick it up again. I’ve read the series a few times now, and listened to the LOTN multiple times. I still dread that portion of the story, but it is easier to bear now.

  4. Mezz says:

    Thanks to RA’s narration of Lords of the North I discovered the Saxon Chronicles by Bernard Cornwell, and have become quite fond of Uhtred. I’ve read all nine so far, as soon as I finish one I’m hanging out for the next one to be released, so I’m glad to hear there will be a tenth. 🙂

    • ItsJSforMe says:

      There has to be a tenth book, as Uhtred’s story isn’t finished! 😃 Even so, I was happy to hear that the next book has a title and a tentative release date. I feel better knowing the story will continue. It drives me nuts when I get involved in a series and the author announces he/she is working on the next book then seems to fall off the face of the earth, never to be heard from again!

Leave a Reply

